Donate To Seti@HomeSeti@Home optimized science apps and information
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
25 Oct 2014, 06:09:54 am

Login with username, password and session length
 
» Home
» Forums
» Downloads
» FAQ
» News

» Search site
 
 
 
If you've registered already but never got your activation email, please click here.
 
 
Seti@Home optimized science apps and information  |  Optimized Seti@Home apps  |  Windows  |  GPU crunching  |  Topic: nVidia and AMD/ATI card in the same system. 0 Members and 0 Guests are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: nVidia and AMD/ATI card in the same system.  (Read 5974 times)
efmer (fred)
Alpha Tester
Knight o' The Round Table
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 147



WWW
nVidia and AMD/ATI card in the same system.
« on: 31 Oct 2009, 01:37:50 pm »

Does anyone have any experience with nVidia CUDA and and  AMD  CAL running on the same computer.
Logged

TThrottle Keep your temperatures controlled.
BoincTasks The best way to view BOINC
corsair
Knight o' The Realm
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 112



Re: nVidia and AMD/ATI card in the same system.
« Reply #1 on: 31 Oct 2009, 04:49:32 pm »

Does anyone have any experience with nVidia CUDA and and  AMD  CAL running on the same computer.
Hi Fred,

I tried some days ago, but impossible my PSU was too poor I thought it was 450w but was 380w,
so installed as test in win XP pro x64 and could get only nice crashing, so, did not retry again until
I'll upgrade the computer, that I'll setup more powerful PSU and both GPU that I've now in stock
(1 running HD3850 and Spare Nvidia 9800), I'll tell you when I'll do that, but for now it will last
some ... as I have some work by now (for next two weeks).
Logged

Over the sailors' graves never groves grass.

Cheers all / Corsair.
Xibalba
Guest


Email
Re: nVidia and AMD/ATI card in the same system.
« Reply #2 on: 02 Nov 2009, 05:38:23 am »

Does anyone have any experience with nVidia CUDA and and  AMD  CAL running on the same computer.

Hi Fred,

I'm using a 4890 and a 250 GTS in the same system. Using Boinc 6.10.17 the gpu's are picked up automatically - although you need a monitor plugged into each for the gpu's to be detected.

It hasn't caused any real problems. I receive CPU & Cuda work for Seti, CAL for the Seti Beta. Cuda & Cal for collatz, Cal for Milkyway. It's all been running pretty smoothly for about a week now.
Logged
efmer (fred)
Alpha Tester
Knight o' The Round Table
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 147



WWW
Re: nVidia and AMD/ATI card in the same system.
« Reply #3 on: 02 Nov 2009, 05:56:46 am »

Does anyone have any experience with nVidia CUDA and and  AMD  CAL running on the same computer.

Hi Fred,

I'm using a 4890 and a 250 GTS in the same system. Using Boinc 6.10.17 the gpu's are picked up automatically - although you need a monitor plugged into each for the gpu's to be detected.

It hasn't caused any real problems. I receive CPU & Cuda work for Seti, CAL for the Seti Beta. Cuda & Cal for collatz, Cal for Milkyway. It's all been running pretty smoothly for about a week now.
Thanks, as soon as I can download the BOINC version I give it a try, looks like it's overloaded right now
Logged

TThrottle Keep your temperatures controlled.
BoincTasks The best way to view BOINC
efmer (fred)
Alpha Tester
Knight o' The Round Table
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 147



WWW
Re: nVidia and AMD/ATI card in the same system.
« Reply #4 on: 02 Nov 2009, 07:37:00 am »

Does anyone have any experience with nVidia CUDA and and  AMD  CAL running on the same computer.

Hi Fred,

I'm using a 4890 and a 250 GTS in the same system. Using Boinc 6.10.17 the gpu's are picked up automatically - although you need a monitor plugged into each for the gpu's to be detected.

It hasn't caused any real problems. I receive CPU & Cuda work for Seti, CAL for the Seti Beta. Cuda & Cal for collatz, Cal for Milkyway. It's all been running pretty smoothly for about a week now.
Thanks, as soon as I can download the BOINC version I give it a try, looks like it's overloaded right now
Card installed, detected, installed drivers.
But as Windows XP 64 starts I get a blue screen. Probably a resource issue ,but there is little or none that I can do about that.
Probably the 295 card is too much to add an additional ATI card.
Logged

TThrottle Keep your temperatures controlled.
BoincTasks The best way to view BOINC
Lord Asmodeus
Guest


Email
Re: nVidia and AMD/ATI card in the same system.
« Reply #5 on: 10 Nov 2009, 06:03:45 am »

Is the screen connecting mandatory ? I was thinking about putting a new card into my home server, but it has no screen.

I post here because I was also interested in the answer, as I just received a pair of 4870 1GB, and have a big PSU and 3*16X PCIe, and already a GTX280, so I could do 4870/4870/GTX280. That would be quite extreme wouldn't it ?

I won't be connecting a screen on one of them, so, it will not work ?
Logged
HAL9000ii
Guest


Email
Re: nVidia and AMD/ATI card in the same system.
« Reply #6 on: 19 Dec 2009, 09:37:39 pm »

Is the screen connecting mandatory ? I was thinking about putting a new card into my home server, but it has no screen.

I post here because I was also interested in the answer, as I just received a pair of 4870 1GB, and have a big PSU and 3*16X PCIe, and already a GTX280, so I could do 4870/4870/GTX280. That would be quite extreme wouldn't it ?

I won't be connecting a screen on one of them, so, it will not work ?

I have seen many people post on the S@H forum that hooking up a monitor was required to get their CUDA card to work. I have not had this issue with my ATI 3850 AGP card.
Logged
Lord Asmodeus
Guest


Email
Re: nVidia and AMD/ATI card in the same system.
« Reply #7 on: 13 Mar 2010, 10:42:08 am »

I was gonna respond to myself withouth realizing. So I have now the pair of 4870 and a 8800GTX all working (milkyway on the ATIs, SETI MB on i7 CPU and nvidia card), with only one screen and no VGA dummy. However it seems to be by chance and I could make a VGA dummy if needed. I tried first the 8800GTX to see if my PSU could handle it, since the GTX280 is even more power hungry.

BTW with the physX patch I can play games with the nvidia card calculating physX, and the ATI cards rendering the image, pretty neat.
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
Seti@Home optimized science apps and information  |  Optimized Seti@Home apps  |  Windows  |  GPU crunching  |  Topic: nVidia and AMD/ATI card in the same system. « previous next »
Jump to:  


Quote!
Exceptions prove the rule ... and wreck the budget.
- Murphy's Law

 
Site Statistics
Total Members:96
Total Posts:55,458
Total Topics:1,570
Downloads
..Some PHP stuff ToDo
Pages served
Today:1,435
Total:20,024,126
(since 6/26/2006)
Latest Member:
Just Will Lite
 
 
Seti@Home optimized science apps and information | Powered by Enigma 2.0 (RC1).
© 2003-2014, LSP Dev Team. All Rights Reserved.
Seti@Home optimized science apps and information Forums | Powered by SMF.
© 2005, Simple Machines LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!